SOLARIS a new unique Research Infrastructure in Central Eastern Europe

5 years ago  By  Iuliana Velniciuc     No comments

Medicine, pharmacology, physics and archeology – all these and many other fields of science will find a common space of research in the National Synchrotron Radiation Centre SOLARIS in Kraków.  The research center, which will be working already in 2016, will be inaugurated on the 21st of September 2015.

SOLARIS is a unique Research Infrastructure in Central Eastern Europe. The synchrotron will be involved in a joint collaboration also with the Central European Research Infrastructure Consortium CERIC-ERIC, recently founded by the European Commission with the participation of Austria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Romania, Serbia and Slovenia.

The opening ceremony  is organized in the experimental hall of the synchrotron by the Rector of the Jagiellonian University – prof. Wojciech Nowak and by the Director of the National Synchrotron Radiation Centre SOLARIS -prof. Marek Stankiewicz.  It is also the completion of the process of construction of the Polish first synchrotron and is part of the celebration of the International Year of Light – the name given to the year 2015 by UNESCO.
Among the invited guests there will be a delegation from the Swedish synchrotron MAX IV Laboratory. According to the cooperation agreement signed between the Jagiellonian University and the University of Lund, two synchrotron radiation centers are built simultaneously in Poland and Sweden. The Polish team is honored to enjoy the experience and expert support of Swedish colleagues. SOLARIS will therefore be a replica of the Swedish synchrotron.
The event will be honored by the presence of authorities of local and central government, rectors of Universities in Kraków and representatives of the world of science, both from Poland and from abroad. The Prime Minister of the Republic of Poland – Mrs. Ewa Kopacz – took the honorary patronage over this particular event.
Project SOLARIS is funded by the European Regional Development Fund under the Innovative Economy Operational Program 2007-2013.

Categories —